Self-Project: Forgiveness

I forgive you for not taking enough time for you…
but also for being so selfish.

I forgive you for your shape, the uniquely tangled cells that contain your being.

I forgive you for not eating only organic food, for having an underwhelming record for exercise, for smoking nearly half of your life.

I forgive you for any and all “fake it” you put out into the world in an effort to “make it”

I forgive you for clinging to that phrase so tightly to begin with.

I forgive you for not knowing what you want, really…. For not following through.

I forgive you for being afraid and angry and hopeless, and weak despite your inherent privileges.

I forgive you for being happy and having contentment when so many others cannot.

I forgive you… for your excessive… and inappropriate use of elipses… and your Tendency to Capitalize words at Random.

I forgive you for you inconsistent effort in so much of what you do.

I forgive you where you’ve failed and where the only failure has been treating something as a failure.

I forgive you for ignoring phone calls.

I forgive you for only being able to give so much.

I forgive you for your childlike behavior.

I forgive you for being so serious all the time.

I forgive you for not pulling enough weight, and not having enough time.

I forgive you for doing the wrong you’ve done, the scars on your heart and soul.

I forgive you for everything beautiful you’ve missed whilst distracted by trivialities.

I forgive you for all the mean things you’ve ever said to me and everything you’ve had me believe about myself that wasn’t true.

I forgive you for taking so long to forgive yourself.

I forgive you for ever feeling like you were nothing.

After all, you are me.

Leave a Reply

