Hairdaze – To Dread or Not to Dread… Starting dreads with dreadlock extensions.

Photo on 1-14-13 at 12.47 PM #3

I’ve had some kind of weird, ummm… “Thing” about my hair as long as i can remember. But i swear it has a life of it’s own. It changed colors on it’s own twice before i even ever dyed it. It’s been every color of the rainbow and shaved in ways most people wouldn’t do for money. When i was younger I had even pulled it all out, but that’s a different story.

These days my hair stays basically the same. I bleach the roots every month or two, and dye it some pink/orange shade. I wait for it to grow, taking biotin to speed up and strengthen it as it does.

I’ve dreaded my hair 2 and a half times (I’ll explain in a second) and combed them out. the first time i kept them for a little over a month, the second was nearly three months. That “and a half” time I tried making extensions and dreading them into my hair while it was short. It worked, kinda, the hair i got to do the extensions had been labeled “Human hair” which is what i needed but, it turns out it wasn’t human hair at all and to top it off i had to sew it to my own to make it stay. Not exactly the best method. They looked terrible… I took them out within a week.

I miss my dreads pretty often, the real ones i mean. I didn’t have them for very long, I mean i combed them out even, so it’s not like they were mature or anything, but they were my babies.

IMG_20130122_134011

Baby dreaddies.

And on the internet there are just so many pictures of awesome hair that i want! So I’m thinking… I made these extensions again… Yes, again, and it was quite a bit of work, hours of work even…

IMG_20131204_122303

Bleaching

IMG_20131204_131623

Dyeing

IMG_20131204_132229

 Having pink hands for two days.

and that’s not including the backcombing, hairdrier-ing or cutting it off the weft.

But i have them now, a full head of extensions that, if i want to add them in, can be permanent on the ends of my own dreading hair…

IMG_20131208_202600

But I’m not sure if i’ll do it or not… and by that i mean… i’m not sure if i’m going to spontaneously decide to lock them in… My guess is that i will, and it’s only a question of when. If i DO add them in, i’ll post a tutorial of course so that’s the good news for you all.

Photo on 12-8-13 at 8.29 PM #2

What do you all think?

3 thoughts on “Hairdaze – To Dread or Not to Dread… Starting dreads with dreadlock extensions.

Leave a Reply

